Japanese Woodblock Print Identification

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Ukiyo-e Q & A ]

Posted by Lance Frazer (67.187.170.37) on July 02, 2015 at 22:18:24:

I just purchased a set of four Japanese woodblock prints -- at least, that's what I'm assuming. I have no background in Japanese art, and neither speak nor write Japanese, so I am, admittedly, in well over my head. But here goes.
The first is printed on what appears to be some sort of very old paper of a type with which I'm not familiar (from what I've found, it appears to be washi). It's attached to a larger sheet of paper, and behind it is a tag reading "Original Print Guarantee by Sakai Co. Ltd. Established 1874 Yokohama Japan", and below it is written in pencil "Kuniyoshi 1797-1861." I have found one other copy of this piece -- "Wanting to See How One Looks", from the series "Auspicious Desires on Land and Sea" -- in the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston (I say that without knowing whether it's significant or not). While I don't read Japanese, my close examination of the writing on mine and the one in the Museum leads me to believe that they have the same origins.