Re: to 'no zu' or not to 'no zu'

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Ukiyo-e Q & A ]

Posted by Kurt (149.171.171.96) on November 10, 2015 at 13:51:59:

In Reply to: to 'no zu' or not to 'no zu' posted by Kurt on November 06, 2015 at 14:22:27:

Thanks Guy and Noel for your replies…

The translation (or lack) of the ‘no zu’ has certainly come as a surprise and been a frustration the more I’ve looked into prints (or purchased some) as of late. This is especially so when you are wanting to cite a work from a museum’s collection and you know the title is incomplete: it’s not as if you can change their title when you reference it; the title has to link up with their collection accession number.

Beyond this, and though I lay no claim to being a competent translator (indeed, I am a novice, only looking at ukiyo-e prints since mid year thereabouts, and don’t have any Japanese language skills) I am surprised at the poor translations that abound. I recognize that there is a lot of flexibility translating a title into English, what with your ‘the’, ‘at’, ‘from’, ‘of’ etc. needing to be filled in… it seems inevitable that two titles will differ a little as a result of this. I also recognize that some synonyms might be used in preference to others. But it is the omittance of words (like ‘no zu’, picture of) and the inclusion of words that aren’t even in the title that has caused me the most bewilderment.

A few examples:
I purchased a Sadahide triptych ‘The Battle of Tsukushi from the Taiheiki’ a few months ago, but it wasn’t until last week that I looked at the title cartouche properly
前太平記筑紫合戦圖
(前太平記筑紫合戦図)